How to make salt dough ornaments

Yesterday, I shared a photo of my Christmas tree on instagram explaining how I made most of my ornaments. For many years I have been making salt dough ornaments with my son. It’s easy, cheap and fun to make.

Here’s just how easy it is to make.

RECIPE

2 cups of plain flour

1 cup of salt

1 cup of water

That’s it! Mix all three ingredients together. Roll your dough out to a thickness of around 3-4mm and then cut the shapes you want with a cookie cutter. Place the shapes onto baking paper to air dry.

Once dried you can decorate them any way you like. You can paint them, stamp them but remember to make a tiny hole in the ornaments before they dry, ( I use a straw), so you can hang them with string once you have finished decorating them.

Here are some photos of ones I have made:

Thanks for reading.

Jo xx

Leave a comment