PART TWO: Building a corner bench seat with storage

A few weeks ago I built a corner bench seat with storage for my sons shoes and schoolbag.

As you’re probably aware I was toying with the idea of adding some panelling to the back of it just to give it that finishing touch.

Below is a picture of what the bench seat look like without the panelling.

It seemed okay, however, something was lacking. We have panelling under the island in the kitchen and in the dining room, so we thought we could add some more panelling to tie this area together with the rest of the house.

So here’s what we did.

We measured and cut the panelling to size and glued them into place. Painted the panels, then cut and painted some trim to finish it off neatly.

I also decided it was time to finish off another project while I had the paint out. The panelling under the island had been attached but unpainted for a few months, so I thought while I was down there I would give that a lick of paint as well.

That makes it two projects ticked off my list. Don’t stop me know, I’m on a roll.

As you can see I didn’t have a drop sheet handy, so I used an old roll of wrapping paper I had lying around from Christmas as a drop sheet.

After what felt like 500 coats of paint here is the finished product.

I found this great free printable art on Pinterest by Madeinaday.com. It fit perfectly into this area with my new fiddle leaf plant.

This is my favourite new spot in the house. I just love it.

Thanks for reading.

Jo xx

Leave a comment